Arvind Kejriwal

President Kovind Appoints Kejriwal as Next Delhi CM; 6 MLAs to Take Oath as Ministers

President Kovind Appoints Kejriwal as Next Delhi CM; 6 MLAs to Take Oath as Ministers

New Delhi: Issuing an official communique, President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday appointed Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convener Arvind Kejriwal as the Chief Minister of Delhi. Besides confirming the Chief Minister’s appointment, the communique also apprised about swearing-in of six MLAs– Manish Sisodia, Satyender Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam as ministers in Kejriwal-led Cabinet.

Related Stories

“The President has been pleased to appoint Shri Arvind Kejriwal to be the Chief Minister, National Capital Territory of Delhi with effect from the date he is sworn in,” the gazette said.

Earlier in the day, the Chief Minister-elect Arvind Kejriwal extended an invitation to Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his swearing-in ceremony at the Ramlila Maidan on February 16, but it was unclear whether the former will attend the event.

If PM Narendra Modi accepts the invitation, he will be the only politician to be part of the oath taking event as no Chief Minister or political leader from other states will be part of the function as it will be a ‘Delhi-specific’ ceremony. Kejriwal, through advertisements in newspapers and radio, has also urged Delhiites to attend the ceremony at 10 am on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Ramlila Maidan, which served as the battleground for the 51-year-old bureaucrat-turned-politician during the Anna Hazare-led India Against Corruption movement, is getting decked up and workers are busy making arrangements.

The police too have made elaborate security arrangements for the event. An official said nearly 3,000 security personnel will deployed for the event. CCTV cameras will be fitted at and outside the venue.

In 2015 as well, Kejriwal’s oath-taking ceremony took place at the Ramlila Maidan. It was held on February 14, coinciding with Valentine”s Day. In 2013 after his party”s first poll victory, the swearing-in ceremony was again held at the same venue.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on India Latest News on

Comments - Join the Discussion